Clicky

1st Grade News

First Grade

1st Grade Coordinator: Wendy Ray

Working towards independence!

In first grade, the students are becoming strong spellers and readers. They will develop fluency in math facts, skip counting, and telling time to the hour and half hour. We explore and research topics like weather, light, sound, magnets, animals, plants, continents, landforms, and influential individuals. We use Saxon Phonics and Eureka Math.

First graders do nightly homework and some may get the opportunity to do book reports. At our school media center, first graders are allowed to check out 2 books at a time.

Some of the special traditions we have in 1st grade include attending several performances, enjoying in-house field trips conducted by High-Touch High-Tech, and taking a trip to the Chattahoochee Nature Center at the end of the year. More information on field trips will be made available toward the beginning of the school year!

The total cost for field trips will be announced soon, and parents can pay online directly to APS by clicking HERE once more information about the trips exists. Students should wear a Morris Brandon shirt on field trips. To order a shirt click HERE. The schedule for the 2016-17 field trips will be published soon.

1st Grade Team

Amy Allman aallman@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Margaret Blease bleasem@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Kesten Gaither kmorris@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Tracey Hudson
Elisabeth Schnurr
thudson@atlanta.k12.ga.us
elisabeth.schnurr@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Ellen Horsman ekenimer@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Opal Knowlton oknowlton@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Ameera Lucky alucky@atlanta.k12.ga.us

© Copyright 2016 Morris Brandon PTA

$0.000 items