Clicky

2nd Grade News

Second Grade

2nd Grade Coordinator: Kelly Rike

2nd Grade Website: http://morrisbrandon.com/grade-level-news/2nd-grade-news/2nd-grade-team-site/

Welcome to the Main Campus!

In second grade, our reading and spelling become even stronger! We will use the Saxon Phonics and Spelling program to supplement our core reading program. It is a structured, systematic, multi-sensory program based on a philosophy of incremental development of new skills and continual review throughout the year. The children will learn three types of writing this year: Narrative, Opinion and Informative.

We will use Eureka Math curriculum now used in grades K-5 at Morris Brandon. Children revisit and build upon skills and concepts learned from first grade and throughout the year in second grade. The program includes hands-on activities for counting, numeration, measurement, geometry patterns, sorting, data calculation, and beginning addition and subtraction.

We will not take the Georgia Milestones test this year. Second graders are evaluated using Reading and Math performance tests given online, also known as the CAAS. These are given three times a year.

Second graders will enjoy several field trips this year including the Carter Center, the Atlanta History Center, the Fernbank Planetarium, and the Chattahoochee Nature Center. They will also see a performance by the Atlanta Ballet and High Touch High Tech will visit our campus for several “in-house” field trips. Details will be made available soon.

2nd Grade Team

Tangie Byrd tbyrd@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Kathryn Fellows kfellows@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Lee Ann Hoekstra lhoekstra@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Jennie Lane jlane@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Mary Leathers mleathers@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Mindy Little mlittle@atlanta.k12.ga.us
Amy Rubado arubado@atlanta.k12.ga.us

© Copyright 2016 Morris Brandon PTA

$0.000 items